Ladywood Primary School seeks to enable all pupils irrespective of gender, cultural background and ethnic origin to realise and achieve their potential. We have high expectations of our pupils and aim to foster both excellence and enjoyment through our curriculum.

Children in the Nursery and Reception are the Early Years Foundation Stage and their curriculum is based on the National Curriculum guidance for this stage. This consists of 7 areas of learning:

Prime Areas

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The curriculum is topic based and delivered through planned structured play and practical activities.

Children in years 1 & 2 study the Key Stage 1 National Curriculum, children in years 3 to 6 study the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum. In each stage there are programmes of study in:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Computing
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art
  • Design technology
  • Music
  • Physical education
  • Personal, social and health education
  • Religious Education
  • Social and emotional aspects of learning (SEAL)

The Key Stage 1 and 2 curriculum is delivered through cross curricular topic work or within discrete units of work.

Pupils are taught phonics from Early Years until they are competent with all the sounds in the English language. We use a mixture of letters and sounds and elements ReadWrite Inc. to teach phonics alongside Oxford Press publications such as Oxford Reading Tree. All pupils are phonic screened in Year 1 and again in Year 2 if they did not meet the required standard in Year 1.

Parents receive a newsletter at the start of each term outlining the topic and learning objectives for the next term.

We aim to make the curriculum appropriate for the 5 outcomes of the Government’s white paper ‘every child matters’ which are:

  • Stay safe
  • Keep healthy
  • Enjoy & achieve
  • Make a positive contribution
  • Achieve economic wellbeing

The curriculum includes religious education. The school follows the Local Authority’s syllabus.

There is an assembly each morning (except Wednesdays when children have class collective worship). These might take the form of a simple story, discussion, singing or quiet thought. Assemblies aim to foster a respect for all living things and to develop the children awareness.

In addition we follow SEAL (Social Emotional Aspects of Learning) and THRIVE to teach social and emotional resilience and resourcefulness in each year group.

We aim to include all children in all aspects of school life, however, parents do have the right to withdraw their child from all or part of religious education.

More detailed information about the curriculum in each Year Group can be found through or class pages
where you fill find curriculum leaflets for each subject area.

Click here to return to the Prospectus contents page.